Skip to content

Red House Children’s Book Awards

I mentioned last week that I would be attending the Red House Children’s Book Awards over the weekend, and so I did. And a fabulous time I had too. First things first, it was fabulous to meet Melanie in person at long last, to see Zoe once again, and to see friends and colleagues from my (now) fair few years in children’s publishing.

On top of that, it was a fantastic space and a great format.

And in case you’ve been in hiding, these were the winners:

Patrick Ness won the older readers category and was the overall winner of 2012 for A Monster Calls.

Liz Pichon won the Younger Readers category for The Brilliant World of Tom Gates.

And Chris Wormell won the Younger Children category for his picture book Scruffy Bear.

It was honestly fantastic to be in the audience of such a vibrant, exciting awards ceremony. All the kids were treated to blowouts (I’ve googled this, this is the official for those whistle tooter things that blow out a paper whatnot!) which made for great noisy fun whenever an author won an award. There were plenty of laughs for both children and parents and all the authors were so brilliant and engaging.

I felt a little guilty being in the presence of some of Milo’s favourite authors that he is so familiar with from his books at home and not actually having my little boy with me. But he’s too young to attend just yet and it all would have been a bit (well, very) confusing for him I think. But what made me feel better about this was the pure fact that there is this sort of event available for him to go to when he’s older. As well as loads of other children’s book events, it was hard to move around the Southbank for buggies, kids, parents, excitement for the Imagine Children’s Festival and I can’t imagine one child in the audience of 1000 at the awards not being completely and utterly bitten by the reading bug and proud to be a reader.

If you want to read more about the ceremony pop on over to Library Mice blog and Playing by the Book who have much better pictures than I have!

Huge thanks go to Melanie for inviting me and another huge thanks to the Federation of Children’s Book Groups for organising a fabulous event. I can’t wait to bring Milo along one day. In the meantime, he just had to settle with my ahem… blowout.

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Zoe #

    What a great photo of Milo and his party tooter (and very smart jumper!). I wish I had been able to spend more time with you on Saturday – would have been great to have had a proper natter. But other than that, it was indeed a lovely day. And hopefully it won’t be too long till we meet again.

    February 23, 2012
    • natashaworswick #

      Yes, this was Milo before a week long coughing sick bug that has given our new washing machine a real test of strength! A proper natter would have been great but it was such a lovely afternoon 🙂 Hopefully not too long before we all meet again!

      February 23, 2012
  2. Oh, poor Milo :0(
    It was great to meet you at last!
    I think my two would have been quite scared by all the noise if they had been Milo’s age, it was VERY noisy (in a happy kind of way!)

    February 24, 2012

Leave a Reply

