Skip to content

Judy Blume has aged me

This post from Judy Blume on her blog made me laugh out loud! She writes about updating Are You There God? It’s Me Margaret. shortly after it was published to remove the sanitary belts and replace them with more modern feminine products that had then come onto the market. This didn’t make me laugh of course, it was understandable that Judy and her publishers would want to ensure that the teenage audience now reading the book wouldn’t feel confused at all by the sanitary belts now obsolete. Nope, it was this sentence that gave me a giggle…

Some of my readers who grew up with the earliest editions of the book get angry when they find out Margaret isn’t using sanitary belts anymore. (I think it’s been at least 25 years since she has.) 

25 years. Oh my goodness this makes me feel remarkably old! Though that would have made me about 8 when I first read the book. I don’t think I was 8, probably a bit older, 10, 11… and my copy was first from the library (we had to buy it in the end as I took it out so much and got panicked when someone else would have it between my trips!).

I absolutely desperately want to re-read it again now but can’t find my ancient, sanitary belt wearing copy. Will have to hunt harder.

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. I loved this book! I can remember getting it out of the local library too!! x

    October 13, 2011
    • natashaworswick #

      I really wish I was re-reading it right now! Such a fantastic book. It was SO important to me as I was growing up 🙂

      October 13, 2011

Leave a Reply

