Skip to content

Roald Dahl Day

Whoopee – it’s Roald Dahl Day today and I have my boy at home (not normal for a Tuesday but lovely!!). I normally celebrate by reading some of his work and I really should have been more organised and done a Roald Dahl Bookish Bites special or something but Milo’s still a little young to fully engage in the wonderful world of Dahl, so we’ve been doing more sedate things!

So far, we’ve listened to some of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory on audio, read by Roald Dahl himself (and my audio book of choice now when visiting the dentist. Comforting methinks!) and I read Milo the first chapter of George’s Marvellous Medicine. This was fun, he seemed to relax into it, didn’t mind about the lack of pictures and loved the descriptions. Apparently I’m going to be covered in worms later. Brilliant! I really hope that I haven’t created a paralysing fear of grandmothers in him though (he has lovely grandparents who don’t resemble the hideous monster in that book! Bleurch, the descriptions of her lips. Bleurch, bleurch!).

This afternoon we were going to go for a scoot around the park and have a juice (coffee for me, much needed) and slice of cake in the sunshine. Except the sunshine appears to have vanished and been replaced by rain. Maybe we’ll just snuggle on the sofa instead and watch the BFG on DVD. A treat for Milo, he rarely watches TV and he’s never seen the movie.

So what are you all up to today? Any celebrations?

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Hurray for Roald Dahl! Maybe today we’ll read the ‘Enormous Crocodile’ 🙂 How is the BFG dvd? Could a 5 and a half year old watch it fine do you think? I’ll have to seek it out! ~Melissa

    September 13, 2011
  2. natashaworswick #

    Hello! We didn’t get round to watching the BFG, we opted for the park in the rain (then sunshine!) and three more chapters of George’s Marvellous Medicine (on Milo’s request – yay!) I would say though that it’s probably fine for a 5 1/2 year old. It’s classified U and the story is quite gentle. It’s a long time since I watched it but I don’t remember it being particularly scary (though I was brought up on a diet of spaghetti westerns, serial killer and horror movies so have a squiffy range of what’s scary and what isn’t!) 🙂

    September 14, 2011

Leave a Reply

