Skip to content

Dream home libraries

A friend posted this on her Facebook page and being the nosy kind of a creature that I am, I really enjoyed looking at these celebrity home libraries.

They are all surprisingly traditional, lots of dark wood and formal looking sofas… not sure that’s exactly how I would decorate my own home library if I were ever to have one (we have enough books, just not enough rooms!). Julianne Moore’s home library appeals to me for the clean, crisp lines and the height but there’s no way we could fit all of our books on those shelves – not enough space!

Nigella Lawson’s is cosy, but too cluttered for me!

So, how about you? Which ones do you like? What would be your dream home library?

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Oh I would definitely pick Julianne Moore’s library, her taste in decor is lovely! I really loved her old townhome that was featured in several decor mags a few years back….but yes, I agree, my books would never fit on just those shelves! I love the floor-to-ceiling look of Nigella’s shelves but she does need to do a bit of tidying 🙂

    September 6, 2011
    • natashaworswick #

      Definitely some tidying required, but I do really love floor to ceiling book shelves. Ultimately I want a room with a library ladder so I can just whizz around looking at all of our books 🙂

      Must see if I can find Julianne Moore’s townhouse online – I do love to nosy in celebrity houses and I really liked this room.

      September 6, 2011
  2. Hi Natasha! Here are more photos of Julianne Moore’s townhome — it was so lovely, I can’t believe they sold it and moved on to another one…but then if I had that kind of money maybe I would want to buy up new townhomes every few years and fix them up as well… 🙂

    http://www.apartmenttherapy.com/ny/real-estate/julianne-moores-west-village-townhouse-092115

    September 7, 2011
    • natashaworswick #

      I think if I had the money, I probably would want to as well, but I’d love to fix up my own townhouse and just spend years accumulating lovely things for it. Thanks so much for the link, have “wasted” quite a lot of time drooling over houses and homes (I could honestly do this all day!) 🙂

      September 9, 2011

Leave a Reply

