Skip to content

A conversation about How To Catch a Star by Oliver Jeffers

Reading at bedtime to Milo the wonderful How To Catch a Star by Oliver Jeffers:

Milo: Oh, the boy doesn’t have any ears.

Me: Yes, he does, you just can’t see them in this picture.

Milo: Oh, but where are they?

Me: They are on his head, we just can’t see them because of the way the picture is drawn.

Milo: I don’t think the boy has any ears.

Me: Can you see your ears Milo?

Milo looks left and right.

Milo: No, I can’t. Where are my ears?

Me: They’re here. (I squish them) Just because you can’t see your ears or the boys, doesn’t mean they are not there.

Milo: Oh, okay.

We finish the book, Milo snuggles down into bed, we say goodnight to his sunshine clock and I start singing Twinkle Twinkle Little Star.

Milo: Daddy can see his ears can’t he mummy.

Me: Well, it’s entirely possible.

Milo: Because daddy’s ears are big. My ears are small and the boy has small ears. I can’t see mine, but daddy can see his ears.

Me: Yes, yes daddy can.

Milo (sadly): I don’t have a star. The boy’s head is so strange.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

