Skip to content

{reading moment of the week}

Milo and his granddad reading books before bathtime. This was actually taken last Saturday on my dad’s birthday after we’d all eaten a lot of food, had a lovely long walk in the park and eaten a bit more food. What you can’t see from this picture is the hysterical laughter from my mum, Milo’s dad and I while watching this pair read together.

I have strong memories of both my parents reading to me as a child, but mostly my dad as I’ve blogged about before. He’s hilarious to listen to when he’s reading to Milo and it brings back so many memories for me. I can’t really describe what he does or says really except for that there is a lot of commentary and he creates subtext upon subtext to the plot.

They were reading Mog at the Zoo and if you are familiar with it, there are lots of mysterious eyes staring out from trees and the like. According to my dad, these are mine! “What’s mummy doing in that tree? Why’s she staring like that? Oh look, there’s that mummy again!”  I don’t think Milo will be looking at that book in the same way again – fantastic isn’t it how someone new can change a book so much by just reading it in a different way.

On Each Peach Pear Plum (a up coming Bookish Bite I’m sure)… “Well, they’re not looking after Baby Bunting very well. A few inches lower and that bear would’ve shot him.” And later… “Good grief, he could have drowned.” The Wicked Witch was ridiculed for laughing at the end.

Out, I say, with the soft, gentle tones of mummy reading to Milo and in, I say, to the chaotic, hilarity of my dad. Brilliant!

***Milo’s not wearing trousers by the way due to the fact that I couldn’t be bothered to re-clothe him again. Muddy puddles and a boy who likes to scooter through them no matter how deep they are, are the reason my washing machine is on its last legs.

Oh, and if you are thinking, birthday must mean cake, here’s a picture of the chocolate cake I made my dad. Best eaten with creme fraiche and a few summer berries (if you are my mum and Milo’s dad. My dad and I… a big old dollop of whipped cream please!)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

