Skip to content

Does anyone else do this?

I was flying round a well known supermarket chain quickly before work this morning. While waiting for Milo’s prescription and trying to decide what we should eat for dinner, I spotted this in the books section.

I bought it purely because the character has the same name as my son. My Milo is of course, far too young to read it, but I have this ridiculous urge to ensure that he has every book with his name in, ever, in his book case ready for when he can read them. I myself will of course read it. It looks funny and like a good read, but in all honesty it was in the basket before I’d even read the blurb so who knows what sort of dubious quality Milo books my child will have to read as he gets older.

Does anyone else have  an odd compulsion to buy books just because they have their child’s name in them? Please say it’s not just me!

Oh and Books for Keeps have a lovely review of Milo and the Restart Button.

And also, the cover illustration is by Nick Stearn who I used to work with… it’s really fun to look at who designed the cover artwork of a book and then think “oh, I knew that person, I used to work with him.”

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. Guilty! I do it….have bought several Maisie themed books, and used to get all the Maisy Mouse ones (even though it’s spelt differently….we do love Maisy Mouse though)! I have already bought the Bertie Bus (from Thomas the Tank Engine) book for Bertie!! You aren’t alone!
    Also, I keep meaning to email you to fill you in on our move. Sorry…things have been so hectic and very stressful! I’ll send you a proper message soon. Hope all is well 🙂 x

    March 16, 2011
    • natashaworswick #

      Ooh Kerry, I’d love to hear about your move. I saw on your blog that you guys have settled on somewhere but I couldn’t work out from your photo clues where it was! It must be a pretty busy time for you guys.

      We’re big Maisy fans here too. I sometimes wish I was still at Walker Books who publish them – Milo would definitely get a kick out of that! We are in the unfortunate position that Milo is one of the names of the tweenies. We didn’t realise that of course having never watched it, but we’re hoping that the tweenies are less popular now than they were before! I’m hoping that he won’t be forever reminded of it!

      March 18, 2011
  2. Guilty too, although we only have a few. Unfortunately it turned out my daughter to have the same name as one of the Twilight characters too, so I guess she’ll be forever reminded of that (if anybody still remembers Twilight when she is older that is!).

    March 16, 2011
  3. M. #

    i do this too! and, interestingly, my son’s name is also Milo (which is why I found this page- I was actively searching for books with his name)

    June 29, 2012
    • natashaworswick #

      That’s really funny! Well do let me know if you find any “Milo” books that I haven’t mentioned. I’m always looking out for more! Milo Armadillo is definitely his favourite “Milo” read at the moment 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

      June 29, 2012

Leave a Reply

