Skip to content

It’s ROALD DAHL day!


So what are you doing to celebrate?

I haven’t got a huge amount of time to read today so I am going to concentrate on two of his shorter books. The Vicar of Nibbleswicke and George’s Marvellous Medicine. I haven’t read them for a little while, so am looking forward to my few minutes of peace, quiet and giggles with one of my favourite authors.

I’ll also be reading  a few Revolting Rhymes to Milo when he gets back from nursery this evening. I remember reading these with my Grandma who’d never read anything by Roald Dahl before and I remember watching her laugh hysterically with tears pouring down her cheeks, barely able to get through a full rhyme without someone else having to take over. Milo’s too little to fully grasp them but he loves watching other people laugh and laughter is always great to share!

There are of course plenty of other ways to celebrate, perhaps wear something yellow (Dahl’s favourite colour), tell a joke, use as much “Dahl language” as you can throughout the day, but whatever you do have fun and be silly!

Here are a few places to kick start your Roald Dahl Day:

Dahl Day official website
The official Roald Dahl website
The Guardian asked Philip Ardagh to pick his Top Ten Dahl titles, find out what he chose here.

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Jo #

    My hero. I haven’t read Revolting Rhymes to Ivy yet – must do asap. I’d love to read Matilda today but I won’t get a chance.

    I’m always astonished by people my age who’ve not read any Dahl – like my husband to be for example, better sort that out before we make it legal!

    Jx

    September 13, 2010
    • natashaworswick #

      I’m not sure that I’m going to get a chance to do my reading either 😦 Milo’s upstairs, very overtired and not wanting to go to bed. You are definitely going to have to sort Lawrence out – that is ridiculous! If you like, I have a whole Dahl library that he can borrow from!

      September 13, 2010

Leave a Reply

