Skip to content

Why do we read kids’ books?

Thanks to @candygourlay for alerting me to this article in The New York Times via twitter. “Kids Books Are All Right” dips into a few of the reasons why adults are reading children’s books and enjoying them, and wanting to read more. I know why I read them, excellent stories, excellent authors – why do you guys read them?

This is kind of one of the things my blog is meant to be here for. When I am not posting about baked goods or Milo that is!

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Cris Cook #

    I know why I read kid’s books. Why? you ask. It brings back all those wonderful memories of when I was a child. I practically ate those books. Enid Blyton was and always will be a real favourite. What with “Secret Seven, Famous Five and The Wishing Chair”. I really loved these books and they really gave me a hunger for reading, not only for knowledge but for total enjoyment. I still have some of those books and I still read them.
    I now have instilled a love of books in my 4 year old granddaughter. When you mention the library, you should see her eyes light up.
    Books are such an insight into the world.

    August 22, 2010
    • natashaworswick #

      I practically ate Enid Blyton stories too. I loved the Enchanted Wood stories, Secret Seven, Famous Five and the Adventure books. Pure total enjoyment as you say. It’s great to hear that your granddaughter is so enthusiastic about the library. Such an important place for children to spend time in. Thanks so much for stopping by.

      August 22, 2010

Leave a Reply

