Skip to content

My Dad’s Thumb

We have a copy of The Puffin Book of Fantastic First Poems thanks to some work I did with Booktime a few years ago. I’ve been reading it with Milo recently, especially the “Higglety, Pigglety Pop” section as I love nonsense rhymes and the Nick Sharratt illustrations which Milo also loves. But his reaction to “My Dad’s Thumb” by Michael Rosen is the best thing. He finds it hilarious and I love reading it to him just for the giggles.

Obviously I do the actions and on his favourite line “If it wanted it could be a bath-plug” I  plug his belly button with my thumb. He finds this hysterical!

Poetry is great. I love that my 21 month old son already has a favourite line in a favourite poem. Brilliant, brilliant!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

