Skip to content

An evening with Eoin Colfer

I was lucky enough to be at an event yesterday evening at Penguin in London with Eoin Colfer in discussion with Julia Eccleshare. Eoin was telling us all about his latest work Artemis Fowl and the Atlantis Complex.

It ended an extremely busy day for Eoin full of events and most excitingly a worldwide webcast to thousands of people – a first for the Puffin marketing team and by all accounts a huge success.

The evening was great. Lovely to catch up with old colleagues and friends and I so enjoyed the discussion. Eoin is hilarious and I’ve been wanting to see him since I missed the chance due to a surprise bout of chickenpox during one of his tours while I was working in Puffin marketing. He did sign my copy of The Opal Deception though with a nice get well message.

The webcast is still online and well worth watching. And in case you haven’t done so already, rush out and buy a copy of the new book – it’s tipped Twilight off the top spot in the book charts!

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. I saw him on his Fairies, Fiends & Flatulence tour 4 years ago and he was hilarious! He is definitely one of those authors you have to see once.

    July 23, 2010
    • That was the tour we were working on and that I missed due to the chickenpox. I caught it literally the first day everything kicked off and then wasn’t allowed out the house for the next two and a half weeks! I’m really glad you enjoyed it – he is really funny and I love the Artemis books so much.

      July 23, 2010
  2. We all had a stomach bug in my house then but I still dragged myself to Bath because I so badly did not want to miss it! But I never got a book signed because the queue was so long and I could barely stand LOL
    I never read the Artemis Fowl books. Just never got round to them I guess but The Legend of Spud Murphy is one of my favourite books!

    July 26, 2010
    • natashaworswick #

      Definitely read the Artemis books. They really are great. I love The Legend of Spud Murphy too. Did you read Half Moon Investigations? What did you think of that?

      July 26, 2010
  3. No but I have read “The Wish List” and really enjoyed it. Too many books, too little time!!!

    July 26, 2010
  4. natashaworswick #

    The Wish List is great! Half Moon was a little bit disappointing for me. Not sure why exactly as it was good, funny and a pastiche of film noir which is always appreciated. It just didn’t quite deliver everything I wanted it too.

    I only managed to read all of these because I was working at Puffin at the time and had a commute!

    July 26, 2010

Leave a Reply

