Skip to content

“It’s sometimes thought of as a children’s book…

…but it’s far more than that.”

Oh, it started off so well with “I’ll Take You There” by The Staple Singers playing over images of the Deep South and Alabama but what does that sentence mean exactly? Is being a children’s book not enough? And from a writer too! I’m watching the BBC’s documentary “To Kill a Mockingbird at 50” on iplayer while I work (some people listen to music while they work, I like to have the telly on).

Fair enough I haven’t got very far into my viewing, but this was one of the first lines spoken by the writer Andrew Smith in his visit to Monroeville in Alabama where the book is set, to document how life has changed in half a century. Not the most impressive start but it’s continuing in an interesting way and has been at some points, very disturbing to watch.

To Kill a Mockingbird was and still is one of my favourite books from my childhood and I plan to re-read it during the 50 year celebrations. According to The Bookseller this morning it’s re-entered the charts at 14 – the highest position in its history. I’m excited to think of all those new readers about to embark on the journey of this very special book.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

