Skip to content

Puffin turn 70!

I switched on the news this morning expecting lots of election coverage but instead there was a lovely tribute to Puffin and their 70th birthday. They had Michael Rosen talking about his favourtie Puffin books over the years and how the publisher and its books are special to so many people.

Puffin are celebrating with a National Puffin Share a Story Day on the 8th May – what Puffin book will you be sharing? I shall probably share a few favourites with Milo. The Very Hungry Caterpillar, Meg and Mog (he is loving Jan Pienkowski’s illustrations at the moment), and a few Charlie and Lola books.

For myself it’s harder. There are so many great books to choose out of Puffin’s enormous backlist. Do I go with a classic? Or something more recent? Something I haven’t read before? Or the great Pocket Money Puffins that have been created especially to celebrate their birthday. Tricky…

I am out this evening at the Children’s Book Circle event “Celebrating the Imagination” (how appropriate!) so I might wander into a bookshop on my way to see if there is something that catches my eye. In the meantime, check out the site that Puffin have created just to celebrate their 70th birthday. Oh, and there is of course lots of fun going on in the Puffin offices today which you can read about on their blog.

Happy Birthday Puffin!

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. We are celebrating it on Sunday with our children’s book group. For the preschoolers we’re doing The Very Hungry Caterpillar and Each Peach Pear Plum and for the older ones we’re doing The Bog Baby and Dirty Beasts. Then we’re getting them all together for Hairy MacLairy. It should be fun!
    The Children’s Book Circle sounds great, makes me wish I was nearer London!

    May 7, 2010
    • natashaworswick #

      I wish we were there for the celebrations. Milo is crazy about Each Peach – he points out the dogs and cats, frogs and ducks throughout the book. That’s his favourite thing at he moment. The CBC is great and it gets me out of the house and mixing with adults which is especially good!

      May 8, 2010
  2. PS have you seen The Puffin Handbook? It’s really good. I’m reviewing it on my blog today :0)

    May 7, 2010
    • natashaworswick #

      I love the new handbook. We were given a copy at the CBC event and I’ve spent ages flicking through it ever since. It really does drive home just home many awesome books they have published!

      May 8, 2010
  3. Oh to be in London again and able to attend things like the events held by the Children’s Book Circle! I didn’t previously know about it so thanks for highlighting it. Hope you had a good time!

    May 8, 2010
    • natashaworswick #

      I did thanks! I might post about it as it was an interesting discussion with a great panel line-up!

      May 8, 2010

Leave a Reply

