Skip to content

The Baby-Sitters Club returns

I was reading this article earlier on how Scholastic are planning to bring back The Baby-Sitters Club series by Ann M. Martin for young teens. I hadn’t realised they had gone out of print (in 2000 apparently) and I remember reading them as a child  and enjoying them quite a lot (was there a film too?).

I liked reading series fiction – I loved a continuous storyline, still do and the feel of these books really appealed to me. They seemed very American and I was obsessed with American fiction in my teens. Specifically Judy Blume, but also watching American TV shows like Saved By The Bell, Blossom, My Two Dads and later on, My So Called Life. American culture, American teens, American everything. It felt much more tuned into me than British culture did at that time.

The Baby-Sitters Club will of course be getting a little revamping and modernising treatment for today’s tech savvy audience. Never entirely sure how I feel about that especially when it’s something like ipods replacing walkmans etc… Maybe I am just being nostalgic, but technology is moving so quickly now that I am sure whatever they replace the old references with, they will be out of date again pretty soon. I don’t know, it just sits uncomfortably with me – a sign of age perhaps! How did that happen?!

I’ll be checking them out though.

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Ash #

    It’s so great they are bringing BSC back! I owned all of them, and they were the books that really got me into reading seriously. I, too, loved that I could become attached to a character (Kristy, in this case) and not have to leave her at the end of the book. She was in just about all of the 100+books. I get so sad to leave a much loved character behind sometimes, even now, when reading a really great book. Thanks for the heads up.

    January 18, 2010
    • natashaworswick #

      No probs! Thanks for stopping by. I love a good long running series fiction myself. I read so much Harlan Coben now for that very reason. I really am a sucker for getting hooked on a good book and character!

      January 19, 2010

Leave a Reply

