Skip to content

A birthday feast of cake

I had my birthday recently and much to my delight all the lovely pressies that came my way were very cake themed – hurrah!

I got three very different books on baking and some super cake decorating equipment.

Yippee books!

I am especially pleased with Jane Brocket’s Cherry Cake and Ginger Beer: A golden treasury of classic treats. The recipes are all inspired by favourite children’s books and it is absolutely the sort of book I wished I’d though to write myself.

There are lovely black and white illustrations throughout and half the fun when flicking through the pages, is trying to guess which children’s book they’ve come from.

Can you guess where this illustration's from?

I do wish though that there were some picture of the finished recipes, just because the images on Jane’s blog always look so tasty.

I also got this lovely cake stand and a gorgeous, gorgeous cake slice from Bombay Duck.

Yummy cake stand and cake slice

I already have the teaspoons to match the cake slice, but apparently there are butter knives too – how exciting! If the good folk at Bombay Duck happen to read this post – it would be a lovely idea to perhaps make some Vintage Teaparty cake forks? Just a thought!

Hungry now.

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Hope you enjoy the Hummingbird book. I am hoping to make their Rocky Road this w/e as a “tester” for my son’s birthday party. And I want that cake slice!!! Why have I not noticed it before? I love Bombay Duck!
    And Happy Belated Birthday!

    September 10, 2009
    • natashaworswick #

      Thank you! Let me know how the Rocky Road goes and happy birthday to your son. The NY cheesecake is amazing. My sister-in-law made it for us before wrapping the book up for me! Honestly, the book is lovely – I want to eat the pages!

      September 10, 2009
  2. Hi Natasha, all of us at Bombay Duck are glad you loved your cake slice! We don’t make cake forks yet, but have passed the idea on to our design team (we do love a bit of cake in the office…yum!). x

    September 11, 2009
    • natashaworswick #

      Thanks for stopping by Maxine. I do indeed love my cake slice! Please let me know what the design team think of the cake fork idea – you’ve at least one customer for them here and the lovely lady who bought me my cake slice would also be very keen to have some. As it’s Friday I think it is definitely a cake in the office day. Enjoy your weekend.

      September 11, 2009
  3. I too recently got the Cherry Cake and Ginger Beer book and love it! I also wish I’d thought to write it! Oh well. It’s a lovely book. And belated birthday wishes to you.

    September 14, 2009
  4. Rocky Road Bars were VERY sweet but yummy! Definitely a naughty treat!

    September 15, 2009

Leave a Reply

