Skip to content

Busy, but it’s all good!

I’m sorry that my posts have been few and far between recently! It’s been a bit of a busy time for me with work and all those summer events that suddenly start happening once June arrives.

We’ve had a lot of birthdays all requiring cake. We’ve also had a lot of visitors to see Milo (more cake), and a lovely wedding of a lovely friend. No cake for me to make for that, but I have taken some photos of the yummy cupcakes that they did have.

Cupcakes galore

Lots of yummy cakes

We have a couple of HUGE celebrations coming up over the next month or so, including my little cousin’s wedding at the end of August which we are all looking forward to.

I find that these big events grow steadily out of proportion in my head when there is a very little person to think of also. It is a military operation when planning to go anywhere for any length of time longer than an hour or so (enough milk, food, toys, when should he take his nap and where etc… etc…).

I found this post by Amy at Literacy Launchpad on making a homemade book to reassure your little one when they are not in familiar surroundings, an absolutely genius idea and something I will be doing as soon as I have a few minutes to spare. Milo is having a few separation anxiety issues at the moment which is making childcare a little exhausting for everyone involved, so ideas like this are brilliant. Keep them coming Amy!

On the work front I have been editing a couple of manuscripts, working hard on the Booktime and Bookstart blogs and also getting down to some proposal writing for some upcoming work at Booktime. Everything feels very busy, but it is all good and all worth it.

I haven’t had much time to read other blogs recently, but on the books front I have kept in touch with Literacy Launchpad, Library Mice, Puffin and Viv Schwartz. Nikalas Catlow, author of Do You Doodle? emailed to point me in the direction of his blog which I am loving! It is all about children’s book design and you can take a look at it here.

On the vintage front I’ve been checking into my regular favourites The Vintage Magpie, Little Cotton Rabbits, The Seventy Tree, Country Cottage Chic among others. Against all the madness in this house at the moment, these few precious minutes gazing at loveliness through the blog world are a welcome relief!

I also spotted this lovely new book by Peggy Porschen. I can’t decide whether to buy it or not. Her chocolate cake and ganache recipes are delicious and I made a wedding cake a few years ago using them so am very tempted by this new book. I have a birthday coming up soon – perhaps a few subtle hints?

Cake Chic by Peggy Proschen

There's a lot of chocolate in that wedding cake

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Thanks for the link to Nikalas Catlow’s blog, very interesting!
    The cupcakes look lovely (and what a nice idea) and so does the book. I am working my way through the Hummingbird Bakery Cookbook at the moment, there are some really nice recipes in there!

    July 14, 2009
    • natashaworswick #

      I’ve just taken a look at the Hummingbird Bakery Cookbook on Amazon and am wondering how I have never heard of them. The book looks fantastic – will be adding that to my birthday list definitely!

      July 14, 2009

Leave a Reply

