Skip to content

I wish I was at the Hay festival

Every year I kick myself for not making the time or being organised enough to get to the amazing Hay literary festival, in the town of Hay-on-Wye, on the border of Wales and south-west England.

For those of you who might not know, Hay-on-Wye has more independent bookshops than any other town in Europe (I think), and its festival is 21 years old this year. Each year it gathers an incredible array of authors, publisher and book lovers for a series of wonderful talks, signings and other events.

Julia Donaldson at the Hay festival

I’m kicking myself even more since I spotted this, an interview with Julia Donaldson, author of The Gruffalo (and lots of others, as she points out!) on the Guardian website.

There were a few interesting things I thought: the working relationship and the trust that ideally exists between an author and their illustrator; Julia’s new book for teens, called Running On The Cracks, which I’ll be checking out soon; and the amount of work she does, both in terms of writing and promotional activities.

Ah, to be sat sipping a nice cold drink in the early summer sunshine, listening to children’s authors like her talking about their work! The chance would be a fine thing.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

