Skip to content

Have you heard?

Fantastic Mr Fox

They are making an animated film version of Roald Dahl’s Fantastic Mr Fox. Apparently Meryl Streep is doing the voice for Mrs Fox with George Clooney doing the voice for Mr Fox. The film is being directed by Wes Anderson who directed The Royal Tenenbaums and produced The Squid and the Whale which I loved.

There are rumours that it is like Wallace and Gromit only slicker. Being a huge fan of Wallace and Gromit I’m personally not sure if that is a good or bad thing, but it should be very interesting to see how the film turns out.

Recently on Twitter, Random House Kids in New York asked everyone to name their favourite Roald Dahl title. I couldn’t. I tried, but it was impossible. So many are favourites they are almost like old friends. Can you name yours? It’s interesting to think about this in terms of the films made from his books. I would have to say the Tim Burton version of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory but also Gremlins which came from a Roald Dahl short story I think.

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Matilda, without hesitation.

    May 7, 2009
  2. Like Melanie, I have no hesitation in naming Matilda as my favorite.

    May 7, 2009
  3. natashaworswick #

    Matilda is definitely up there for me too. I just really love Danny the Champion of the World. It is very difficult.

    May 7, 2009
  4. i’d have to go for boy, his memoir that looks back over his childhood and teen years.

    you see so many of the themes in his fiction books emerging – the unpleasant authority figures, the scary and disgusting experiences, the love of all things sweet and sugary.

    it goes to show just how directly he took inspiration from his own life and childhood. and that feels really nice.

    May 7, 2009
  5. Mine is ‘George’s Marvelous Medicine’ I still love it and have read it to my daughter twice now, and she loves it too! I can still remember clearly when Rick Mayall read it for Jackanory when I was a child. Second place is The BFG….
    Fantastic Mr Fox is also brilliant, The Twits, Boy, Matilda…I love them all and could waffle on and on! I look forward to the film in that case and hope it doesn’t disappoint as these things sometimes do….!

    May 7, 2009
  6. natashaworswick #

    The films always make me nervous, but I really like other things that Wes Anderson has been involved in so I am keeping my fingers crossed.

    The BFG… that could easily be my favourite. I saw a puppet show of it when I was little and thought it was amazing. Something about the giant BFG puppet and a tiny Sophie puppet.

    May 7, 2009

Leave a Reply

