Skip to content

Pootling around children’s literature blogs

I was having a quiet moment to myself this morning and wondered what everybody else was up to.

I had a quick peek at Jen’s site. There’s always such a lot to read and I felt I had to share her post about a post.

In Jen’s “Reviews That Made Me Want The Book” roundup, she mentions a review by Tasha Saecker on Bubble Trouble by Magaret Mahy and Polly Dunbar. This is the quote that made Jen want the book:

“Little Mabel blew a bubble, and it caused a lot of trouble… Such a lot of bubble trouble in a bibble-bobble way.”

Bubble Trouble by Magaret Mahy and Polly Dunbar

Lovely! This made me want the book too!

On Laura’s blog, I enjoyed her account of her home town, Rottingdean near Brighton and the wonderful list of authors that currently live there. Obviously a very creative area!

I visit Write Away quite regularly as have had the pleasure of working with Nikki Gamble on a fair few occasions. Write Away always has lots of great reviews and things to look out for. It was especially good to see Nikki’s article on When Two Laureates Met from an event held at the British Library. Michael Rosen and Andrew Motion in discussion, chaired by James Naughtie. This is an event I’d have really loved to have been at. Nikki says: “Tapping into what young people feel, their cares and passions, their loves and sorrows, their joys and simple pleasures and helping them find the means of expressing these feelings is what it’s all about. Not counting adjectives, spotting figurative language or filling out acrostic worksheets. It was a quiet call to arms but a powerful one.”

If you are a teacher you might want to check out the Write Away conference in May – there are just a few places left, but it is sure to be a brilliant and inspiring event.

Not quite children’s literature blogs, but I’ve also enjoyed reading “oh peebo” on Cupcakes for Clara. I really liked Peebo! And “sidewalk chalk” on Wee Wonderfuls really made me wish I could take such beautiful photos!

I love quiet moments in the day just to pootle.

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. I love the viral nature of blogs. Tasha to me to you to … whoever next wants to read Bubble Trouble from reading about it here. Loved your moonface photo, too.

    April 23, 2009
  2. natashaworswick #

    Me too. A post, within a post, within a post! Just spreading the happiness about Bubble Trouble – good stuff! Hope you are well.

    April 23, 2009
  3. I like your spreading of happiness. All is well with me. Hope you’re well, too. Cheers!

    April 24, 2009
  4. Wish I had more moments to just “pootle.” They seem so hard to come by lately.

    April 24, 2009
  5. natashaworswick #

    Pootling is indeed a rare thing in this house too and unfortunately the housework and washing have suffered so no chance of a pootle today!

    April 24, 2009
  6. Thanks for the mention. And Bubble Trouble looks totally fab! We’re going to see the Fly Away Katie puppet show in early May as part of the Brighton Fringe Festival. Cassy loved Shoe Baby, and Polly just gave me the CD, so we’re grooving to the Gomez sounds. Maybe when Milo is a bit bigger, we can all catch a show together? Pootle is a word we should all use more often!

    April 24, 2009
  7. natashaworswick #

    Enjoy Fly Away Katie – I love that book! We will definitely be heading to Brighton for a show when he’s a bit older. Am sure he’d love it! If he doesn’t, I will! We can pootle around after the show!

    April 24, 2009

Leave a Reply

