Skip to content

The bear of very little brain returns

My own title makes me a bit sad. I know that Pooh isn’t always the brightest bear in the box but still, he is our much loved Pooh bear.

So, we’ve known about this for a little while now, but the glorious cover ad on the front of the Children’s Bookseller reminded me how excited I am about his return.

Children's Bookseller

It is 90 years since the last Pooh bear book and the estate of AA Milne have agreed to authorise the first ever official sequel to The House at Pooh Corner. The author is David Benedictus and the new title is Return to the Hundred Acre Wood, to be published by Egmont in October this year. The book will be illustrated by Mark Burgess.

There are lots of articles about the new Pooh book on the internet so I am going to point you in the direction of some:

The Guardian
BBC
– with an audio clip from the new author
The Bookseller

Publisher’s Weekly

As with many things in the world of children’s literature at the moment, I feel quite nervous about this new title, but it is in good hands and so we’ll have to wait and see.

We’ve been trying to read Winnie-the-Pooh to Milo at bedtime for the last few nights, but for some reason he is not loving it. Maybe the illustrations are too small (we were trying not to overstimulate him before sleep!), maybe it was something else entirely. I am hoping it will become a firm favourite as he gets older. The Pooh books are certainly some of mine. That special relationship between a child and their bear is something that chimes with me. Quite timeless I think.

This post then is for you JB Bear!

JB the bear - my faithful friend of 20 years!

One Comment Post a comment
  1. mamakatrina #

    I was also very excited to hear about the new Pooh book on CBC radio. It came out at the perfect time, I had just finished reading my 3 1/2 year old the complete tales of Winnie-the-Pooh and she was very much wanting more. I, of course, want to stick to the classic pre-disney Pooh and am now on chapter 5 of the Return with her. The stories are perfect, the drawings I’m not so keen on. I like the old Christopher Robin better. I find the flow of the words isn’t quite as fluid as AA Milne but the general feeling is spot on.
    I’m loving it and I hope that this isn’t the end of the road for another 80 years for Pooh.

    November 3, 2009

Leave a Reply

