Skip to content

Absolutely nothing to do with children’s books…

… but I am just too excited.  From The Bookseller today:

Canongate has acquired the UK and Commonwealth rights to the official companion book to the cult hit TV series “The Wire”, which sees its UK terrestrial début this spring when it airs on BBC2.

The Wire

The Wire is the best thing I have ever seen on TV. We have all five box sets and watched them in record time. I plan to start re-watching it when it lands on terrestrial TV as from the documentaries on our DVDs it would seem that there are a few intricacies that I missed first time round.

No series has ever kept me as gripped as The Wire (except maybe The A-Team when I was very young) and so I am really excited about the idea of a companion book. Judging by the article in The Bookseller, it is going to be packed with interesting insights.

David Simon, the executive producer and author of Homicide, is going to be at Hay and Harrogate Crime Festival. I’ve always wanted to go to Harrogate Crime Festival and now I’m thinking that this year might be the year!

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. You just inspired me to move this up on my NetFlix queue. I’m currently immersed in the series 24 (just finishing up season 4), but this is next after seasons 5 and 6.

    March 23, 2009
    • natashaworswick #

      I think I am going to have to start on 24 now, just to try and get rid of my Wire withdrawal symptoms! Am sure that you will love it! Let me know.

      March 23, 2009
  2. I think you’ll like 24. What I love about it is that each season is one long (24 episode) story. I find episodic cop shows, where the mystery is solved every week, tedious. But 24 is a whole different ballgame.

    It will be a little while before I get to the Wire, but I’m going through the 24 shows pretty fast… I need fast-paced things while I ride the exercise bike – that’s how I justify the NetFlix money.

    March 23, 2009
    • natashaworswick #

      You are going to love The Wire then! Some things don’t get resolved until the fifth season and the characters are so good. We’ll have to compare notes. Enjoy the exercise bike. I need to jump on one of them soon!

      March 23, 2009

Leave a Reply

