Skip to content

Spaces

Lauren Child's wonderful home

This article on Lauren Child‘s  house/space inspired me to think a little more about the spaces in my life and the ones I would like to have. I have always been interested how people create spaces for themselves. A house, a corner in a room, a table in a coffee shop, the desk at work – just a place that is a little bit of an extension of you and somewhere to feel safe and comfortable.

I was always trying to create these spaces for myself as a child. Whether it was a den in my room made out of bed sheets, a cushion house in the living room that I would snuggle inside watching red nose day in my pyjamas or the branch of a tree that I could safely sit and read my Enid Blyton books, my own space has always been hugely important.

Now of course, I have a house, a mortgage and a much more sensible space that is home to me, Milo and his dad and in many ways, though I love our little house, I regret the normality of it.

Growing up surrounded by books I was always wanting to make myself magical places to be that were a reflection of everything I love. A bit like Lauren’s kitchen, but a lot more like the Oncelers house, Magic Faraway tree or the Moomin House.

The Oncelers home from The Lorax

The Moomin house from the Moomin museum - Tampere, Finland

Turrets, secret rooms, slides, nooks, crannies, staircases, bridges, balconies, windows of all shapes and sizes – I think it is the detail, intricacy and imagination that children’s authors bring to something so perfectly normal like a house or work place that has always intrigued me. I am fanatical about detail, almost obsessive, and always thought that one day, I would have my very own Oncelers house. Probably why I watch so much of Grand Designs.

I suppose it could happen one day. I’d need to earn a lot more money or win the lottery or something but in the meantime I will carry on creating the little spaces in our house that make it our home (and keep searching for that elusive secret passageway of course).

Wow – this is a really long post. Apologies for the ramblings.

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. I feel ya! I was looking at the illustrations in Goodnight Moon the other week, and thinking how cool it would have been to create a Goodnight Moon bedroom for my son. Too late now though.

    I’m actually planning to do a Mr. Linky post though where people can show off their “book nooks.” I’m curious about where other people read and/or keep all (or some of) their books. I’m hoping to see some creative spaces. Maybe get some ideas and be inspired. I’ll probably do this post next week.

    February 16, 2009
    • natashaworswick #

      I’ll be looking out for your post! I love to see where people keep their books. We have them everywhere in our house, but my favourite place is in one of the corners in my office which is also where the comfiest chair in the world is. It is a real “book nook.” Of course though, a lot of my picture books have now migrated to Milo’s room.

      February 17, 2009
  2. It is wonderful to hear you read Enid Blyton as a child, usually in your self made den, where you felt safe and private. I loved Enid Blyton when I was a child, and collected the entire set if her ‘Five’ series.
    Now a grandmother, I have passed on this set to my grandchildren. I hope they enjoy it as much as I did. They gave me the love of books I have today.
    I am the author of a new book for young children, and hope that perhaps today’s children will love it too, as it contains ten short stories.
    Irene Harvey
    http://eloquentbooks.com/WilliamtheFairgroundCar.html

    February 17, 2009

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Favourite writing nooks/second favourite book nook « children’s books for grown-ups

Leave a Reply

