Skip to content

Where’s Tumpty? bright yellow house (part 2)

Now I should say straight away that we haven’t made a Tilly and Friends bright, yellow house in cake form. Sorry if that’s disappointing but I’m not sure if it’s in mine or Milo’s capabilities! Instead we made a bright, yellow house for some cardboard cut-outs of the characters to play around in. It all felt a little Playing by the Book… and we really enjoyed it!

Milo often plays with a doll’s house at nursery (with his cars… they sleep in there and drive down the stairs and re-fuel) and while I do have the most fantastic doll’s house to pass on to him that my Granddad made when I was little, it needs a little re-decoration first and he really needs to be old enough to use the battery operated lights. In the meantime though, we thought that it might be fun to make the little yellow house that Tilly and her friends live in.

It really is so very lovely. We started with a box and a tub of yellow paint.

It took a while and a little help from me, but eventually the box was yellow.

After a quick dry out in the sunshine, we then headed over to Milo’s Nana and Granddad’s house to finish our little house off. I drew some windows, a door and most importantly a letterbox on the door and cut them out with a craft knife. Not a job for a little one.

Milo then wanted to make some tiny letters to post to Tilly through her letterbox. Lots and lots of letters.

Meanwhile, Nana and I painted round the window edges to match (well, fairly closely), with the book.

The reason I’m including this photo despite the fact that it has me with no makeup on in it, is because it’s one that I love of me and my boy! I am enjoying myself, honestly. This is just how I look when concentrating on something I am not particularly good at / that requires eyesight better than mine!

We then made the curtains. Not out of material which would have been nice, but drawing on a sheet of paper. Originally with the rightish colours… then some artistic license from Milo! All while eating a peanut butter sandwich.

I’d made some cardboard cut outs of Tilly and friends for Milo to move about inside his little house, with props on the back to keep them up. This delighted him! so much he squashed them all hugging them!

And here’s Tilly in her house. Can you spot her?

We haven’t worked on the inside yet. There’s a lot to do… a pot plant to make for Tumpty to hide behind for one thing! I’ll post on our progress, but needless to say, Milo loves his Tumpty / Tilly house!

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Fab house & great idea, looks like a fun crafty afternoon. I am fond of the Tilly books too

    July 28, 2011
  2. Zoe #

    Tremendous! I LOVE it! (perhaps that’s not a surprise, but I do, I really love it!)

    July 28, 2011
  3. natashaworswick #

    Thanks girls! It was a fun afternoon. The Tilly books are so gorgeous and Milo adores them. And Penguin too! We’ve made a little bed for the house now with a padded quilt :)

    August 6, 2011

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

