Skip to content

Ramona Quimby?

Okay, so I really don’t spend all of my time reading Meg Cabot’s blog. No, really I don’t. But while I was just quickly glancing over her latest post last night I discovered this! There is to be a Ramona and Beezus movie. Did everyone know about this except me? It’s already out I think in the US.

Do you remember Ramona?

There was a TV series based on the books by Beverly Cleary. I don’t think I ever read the books as a kid, I’m not sure whether they were published in the UK or widly known about over here which is a shame, but anyway, I watched the TV series. Always on a Sunday morning with an assortment of sweets and chocolate if my parent’s had had friends over the night before (left over peanuts and twiglets and After Eight mints), before anyone else got up. Just me, the TV, food I shouldn’t eat before I’ve brushed my teeth and American/Canadian TV shows… oh how I loved anything from America. I watched it all. Knightrider, The A-Team, The Waltons, Little House on the Prairie, Saved by the Bell, Fresh Prince of Bell Air, Mr Cooper – okay, carried away now… but I did love Ramona Quimby. Here’s a picture of her incase you’ve forgotten:

I’m excited about the movie, though a little concerned about how cute the children look in it. Selena Gomez plays Beezus and she just looks too nice.

See what I mean? Beezus was always mean to Ramona and irritated by her. Lori Chodos who played her in the TV series had that down perfect. But, I shall wait until I’ve actually seen the film before I cast any further judgement! I don’t think I know anyone who would want to go with me but that’s okay, films on your own can be fun. You don’t have to share the minstrels.

It’s ridiculous also how very much I love Meg Cabot and her blog because never, ever would I have considered going to see a movie called Eat, Pray, Love. Even with Julia Roberts in it (I still have a lot of respect for Sleeping with the Enemy – it gives me the jitters, I like that. It’s the towel scene I think.). Honestly ridiculous, but now I am considering it. I’ll probably be watching that one on my own too!

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Oh my….I had completely forgotten about Ramona Quimby! I used to love the TV programme too (and all the others you listed)! I just found a clip of the opening credits on Youtube and it all came back to me! I didn’t know there was to be a film…I agree that it looks a bit too ‘cute’ going by the picture…but as you say, I will reserve judgement until I’ve seen it. Hope all is well with you.

    August 13, 2010
    • natashaworswick #

      I had a look at that clip on YouTube and it was brilliant. I hope the film doesn’t disappoint. It’s always hard to live up nostalgia. We’re good thank you – battling the nursery blues and trying to get some more work in. How are you and the new little one? Loving how much you’re blogging at the moment, but also wondering how on earth you’re fitting it in! x

      August 13, 2010

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

