Skip to content

Thinking I should probably read Twilight

I know – it’s shocking that I haven’t read it yet, so I’m thinking I better had. Apparently Twilight has reached the 2 million sales mark in the UK. Only the 13th (how appropriate) book to do so since the turn of the century and Stephanie Meyer is only one of four authors (Rowling, Haddon, Dan Brown) to reach the two million in the 21st century mark.

Everyone’s talking about it. Everyone’s obsessed with it. I love vampire movies, always have done and I’ve always found vampires a little bit sexy (no Jason Patrick not you, hello Kiefer Sutherland!) – so why have I not read this yet? Not sure.

The blurb sounds great. The black cover with splash of red is exactly what should be on this book, though I am not keen on apples but that’s no reason to not read a book. I really just don’t know.

I shall ask for a copy for my birthday (next month). And then I will rent the movie. Someone called Robert Pattinson is in it and apparently he is quite fanciable!

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Don’t worry there are no apples in the book! I think it is worth reading, just to know what the fuss is about. I have read them all and I have loved them. It has been great at school – so many girls (and a few boys) who are not readers have read them and we have spent so much time discussing the books, Edward, Jacob etc. Teenagers really like it if you can share their enthusiasm for something. We have moved on to Glee and Vampire Diaries now! :0)
    Don’t expect high literature, in fact expect appalling writing in parts! I think to be able to enjoy Twilight you have to just let yourself be lost in the story. If you do, you will really enjoy it. If you think too much about the quality of writing and/or some of the issues raised (die-hard feminists hate it and it is not hard to see why) you will enjoy it. As for the films, they are ok (I haven’t seen Eclipse yet) but they miss out a lot of stuff. Let me know how you get on!

    July 28, 2010
    • natashaworswick #

      Oooh they do sound so good to me. I like a read where I can get lost in the book and not worry too much about feminism and quality of writing! I honestly do not understand how I haven’t read them yet. I love anything American and aimed at teenagers and vampires have always been a particular favourite. I must have been in a baby fog.

      This must be true really as we’re only catching up now on films we missed out on seeing since 2008 when Milo was born.

      July 28, 2010
  2. Jenny Szewiel #

    I started listening to them on audiobook when I first had Chloe (I found it was the easiest way to consume books when breastfeeding!) and really enjoyed them but it took quite a long time to get through them so I got the last one in hardback from the library and devoured it last month. Very easy to read and although I found the plot to be very slow in places, there’s lots of teenage angst to wallow in along the way. As someone who tends to read books aimed at the 8-12s, it was an enjoyable change to read about moody teenagers instead! The films are beautiful to watch too, and Robert Pattinson is YUM! Hope you enjoy them :-)

    July 28, 2010
    • natashaworswick #

      Why, why, why did I not think of listening to audiobooks when I was breastfeeding… genius. At one stage Milo was feeding every two hours for 45 minutes a go. Knackering (and a little bit boring though I really miss it now), and I mostly watched documentaries about extreme weather conditions (yes, I really do enjoy stuff on hurricanes, earthquakes, natural disasters etc…) on iplayer and in fact anything vaguely interesting on there (I watched a Storyville doc on the plane crash over the Andes twice – it made me cry), and my Frasier DVDs – all ten series that I own. I do like reading about moody teenagers very much.

      July 31, 2010

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

