Skip to content

Revisiting Beatrix Potter

I watched Miss Potter on BBC iplayer over Christmas as I hadn’t seen it before and we were hunting for something good to sit and eat Quality Streets in front of (Christmas telly seemed to be somewhat lacking this year). I really enjoyed it. Usually I find Renee Zellwegger a touch irritating to watch, but she was manageable in this and Emily Watson and Ewan McGregor played Millie and Norman Warne well. It flowed nicely along and was a very pleasant hour and a half of my life!

I think what I loved most about the film, (aside from the drawings of course, the insight and the wonderful part where she realises that she is wealthy and has made enough money to move to the countryside under her own steam), were the stunning set designs and locations. Particularly her room she used whilst living with her parents. Everything about it was wonderful.

I used to have a lot of Beatrix Potter books when I was young, but I can’t find them. They must be up in my parent’s loft with an awful lot of my other childhood books. I wanted to revisit her work after watching the film so we went to the library and got out The Tailor of Gloucester and The Tale of Mrs Tiggy-Winkle.

I particularly wanted to read The Tailor of Gloucester as this was my favourite as a child. I loved the idea of the scampering mice, helping the tailor out and doing such fine, detailed work. It didn’t disappoint and her illustrations are as intricate and charming as ever.

The film mentions the size of the books and how Beatrix Potter insisted that the cost be kept down and therefore how her publisher came to use just one sheet of paper to print etc… They are lovely books to hold. The smallness of them reflecting the small, delicate illustrations inside. Very much a little treat, much like the film was (and all the Quality Streets).

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Love the film! I am not a RZ fan either but I think she did very well.
    I have to say I don’t really enjoy Beatrix Potter stories but love the artwork.
    Did you see The Gruffalo? It was without a doubt THE highlight of Xmas telly!

    January 5, 2010
    • Natasha Worswick #

      I agree about Beatrix Potter – the stories aren’t brilliant, quite sweet, but not brilliant, but the artwork is so lovely. I haven’t seen The Gruffalo yet – it is next on my iplayer viewing schedule when I get five minutes! We’ve been reading a lot of Charlie Cook’s Favourite Book recently which I’ve been loving reading aloud, but I think Milo’s a little too young to fully appreciate it. He does point at the owl a lot though for me to say “twit twoo!”

      January 5, 2010

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

