Skip to content

I LOVE Meg Cabot

I am not in the slightest bit ashamed to say that I have loved and enjoyed all ten of the books in the Princess Diaries series. Sometimes I do feel that I should be a little embarassed by that and keep my stash hidden away, but I am not. They’ve made me laugh, cringe, blush, giggle and feel as awkward as a 15 year old girl again and I am super sad that I have now read Ten Out of Ten and that is it. No more hijinks with Princess Mia and her friends. I now know what happens with her and Michael Moscovitz and I can safely say that the ending was very satisfying – yay!

So, when I did finish that final book in the series it left something of a hole in my life. That feeling that you are never going to have that special kind of escapism that a really great book has given you, ever again. I have read Meg Cabot’s blog on and off for quite some time now and so I turned to it once again in my time of need. For the gossip and to dream about her life; adventures in Brazil, book signings, her cats, her ability to know everything going on in Hollywood etc…

And so to today. I thought I couldn’t love Meg Cabot anymore than I already did as she gave me ten books of pure cheesy, teen pleasure, until I read this post.

LOVE IT!

I too am completely obsessed with disaster movies. I have also seen all of the disaster movies made for TV including the really, really bad ones. I totally agree that there was no need for the CGI wolves in Day After Tomorrow (I don’t though agree that we should feel sad for them – I have a very big phobia of wolves stemming from some childhood traumas and The Box of Delights… shudder), I too found the lake of acid scene in Dante’s Peak hilarious – though I thought it was two teenagers who fried? Maybe this was just at the beginning. Either way – brilliant! I’m looking forward to seeing 2012 very much.

So I love Meg Cabot because of her obsession with disaster movies. But that’s not it. Nope. I am now so completely in agreement with her for this one line:

2012 stars John Cusack, who gave us Lloyd Dobler, arguably the greatest romantic hero ever created!”

SO VERY TRUE. (Turn away now relatives who read my blog). Lloyd Dobler is everything, EVERYTHING I ever wanted in a man. And that scene in Say Anything is probably the most lovely, wonderful and romantic one of its kind in all of cinema. Ever.

So I’ll leave you with this, and that’s all that needs to be said.

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. While I haven’t read the Princess Diaries, I have to agree with you about Lloyd Dobler. Oh…my…God. And the scene where they shiver in the car because they are so overwhelmed with emotion? It’s sooo teenage and real and amazing and, and. OK, I’ll stop. :)

    November 25, 2009
    • natashaworswick #

      The scene in the car is the one that I really wanted to mention but didn’t quite feel like I could as there are some of my relatives that read this blog. It still feels so raw and private and real and amazing and, and. Yep, I had better stop too :) Ahh Lloyd Dobler.

      The Princess Diaries is a very guilty pleasure. I am a chapter into one of Meg’s adult books (Size Doesn’t Matter) and so far it is reading like an episode of Diagnosis Murder which, sigh, is no bad thing to me!

      November 25, 2009
  2. rosie #

    I really enjoyed your website! Your book reviews are wonderful reading. Have you heard of Danny the Dragon? It’s worth a review: http://DannyTheDragon.com Please let me know if you are interested in reviewing this nominee for Best Children’s Book of 2009! info@DannyTheDragon.com Thank you, Rosie

    December 1, 2009
    • natashaworswick #

      Hi there,

      No I haven’t – can you let me know what it’s about? Thanks so much for stopping by.

      Tasha

      January 3, 2010

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. The Baby-Sitters Club returns « children’s books for grown-ups

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

